top of page

I dont wear wigs, this is my hair.

Meet Benny Harlem, a viral Model, aspiring singer\songwriter and beyond all that the strongest ambassador for modern fatherhood and redefinition of black masculinity. He and his 6 year old daughter Jaxyn are the sensational duo which took the internet by storm and caught the attention of several magazines including Paper and I-D as well as caught the likes of celebrities such as Kim Kardashian West.

The models eye catching appearance and luxurious head of hair which he refers to as "Crown" have played a very important role in his career success but also tell a very empowering story. It is a known fact afro hair can be extremely hard to handle, unmanageable, overwhelming and has been subject to a lot of controversy as the community grew up with the idea that afro hair is something which needs to be battled into submission through wigs, extensions and often damaging treatments so as to conform to the traditional ideals of beauty. However Benny, non conforming and on a journey of self-love embraced his roots and grew his hair out to form a luxurious full dark mane.

"Heavy is the head which wears the crown" has never been more true. He often receives a lot of backlash on the way he wears his hair from beyond just the black community but the wider spectrum as well which just further highlights how fragile the state of masculinity is and there as a whistle blower for a conversation most the world seems to be trying avoid Harlem said in a candid interview with Paper mag :"I don't look like the 'everyday black guy' and that's fine with me. I love the fact that I am who I am. (...) I also hope I'm one of the ones who stands firm in my looks, as an artist, as a man, as a father, and so help other men come out unapologetically, with their hair and everything. I shouldn't look the way Wall Street wants me to look. I should look like how I feel inside. I feel like a big fire. We should make that the new standard: Coming out of what people expect, coming out of that box. (...) It's a new day and age to express ourselves in our looks, the way we need to or want to, the way that our souls are telling us to."

The sweet connection Benny and his daughter have is imminently evident throughout his instagram platform. Their close bond is built on foundations of "teaching though example" as he and his wife raise a beautiful gracious girl in the very real world equipped with all the skills needed to deal with issues very similar to the ones her father is facing and for a young black girl which will eventually grow to be an active member in modern society these are the foundations needed in oder to ensure the world is moving to a forward, better place.

bottom of page